About the DAO


Founded in 1923, the Dallas Academy of Ophthalmology is a tax-exempt, non-profit organization with over 140 members who are board-certified eye physicians and surgeons in the North and East Texas areas.  The DAO provides continuing education for its members to promote better ophthalmic care for citizens in the area.  The Academy strives to accumulate and disseminate knowledge and experiences pertaining to new ophthalmic methods, techniques, and devices throughout the Greater North Texas medical community.  Members live and practice clinical and academic ophthalmology in cities such as Arlington, Bedford, Dallas, DeSoto, Fort Worth, Frisco, Garland, Irving, McKinney, Mount Pleasant, Plano, Richardson, and Waxahachie to name a few. 


 DAO At a Glance

The Dallas Academy of Ophthalmology meets four times yearly, beginning in September and ending in March of the following year.  The year officially begins with a board of directors meeting in August where officers and board members finalize the professional education programs.  Beginning in September, and every other month through March, the Academy hosts a two part meeting beginning with a dinner session for its members on the third Thursday of the month.  The dinner features a noted national or international guest lecturer from the ophthalmic community. This featured speaker then leads a clinical session and grand rounds the next day, a Friday morning at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center Department of Ophthalmology.       

The DAO is governed by six board of directors members and four officers.  The board is made up of three past presidents who serve for three consecutive years following his or her year as president.  The other three board members are elected from the membership and also serve for three consecutive years.  Each officer in the academy begins a seven-year term of service in the Program Chairman position, moving into the Secretary/Treasure role followed by service as the Vice President, and finally as President.    


The Dallas Academy of Ophthalmology, a non-profit organization, was founded in 1923 and is currently comprised of over 140 board-certified ophthalmologists who specialize in disease and surgery of the eyes.  Our members live and practice medicine in the North and East Texas areas.  The Academy states as its purpose the continuing education of its members.