About the DAO: Our Mission

Founded in 1923, the Dallas Academy of Ophthalmology is a tax-exempt, non-profit organization with over 140 members who are board-certified eye physicians and surgeons in the North and East Texas areas.  The DAO provides continuing education for its members to promote better ophthalmic care for citizens in the area.  The Academy strives to accumulate and disseminate knowledge and experiences pertaining to new ophthalmic methods, techniques, and devices throughout the Greater North Texas medical community.  Members live and practice clinical and academic ophthalmology in cities such as Arlington, Bedford, Dallas, DeSoto, Fort Worth, Frisco, Garland, Irving, McKinney, Mount Pleasant, Plano, Richardson, and Waxahachie to name a few.


Join the DAO for this exciting online learning event.

Wednesday, May 26, 2021

6:30PM til 7:30PM CST


Click Here to Register


Andrew R. Harrison, MD

Associate Professor

Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Neurosciences

Associate Professor

Department of Otolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery

Director, Ophthalmic Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery Service

Co-Director, Center for Thyroid Eye Disease

University of Minnesota

Minneapolis, Minnesota


Wendy W. Lee, MD, MS (Chair)

Professor of Clinical Ophthalmology and Dermatology

Oculofacial Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery, Orbit, and Oncology

Bascom Palmer Eye Institute

University of Miami Miller School of Medicine

Miami, Florida


The Dallas Academy of Ophthalmology, a non-profit organization, was founded in 1923 and is currently comprised of over 140 board-certified ophthalmologists who specialize in disease and surgery of the eyes.  Our members live and practice medicine in the North and East Texas areas.  The Academy states as its purpose the continuing education of its members.

At A Glance

The Dallas Academy of Ophthalmology meets four times yearly, beginning in September and ending in March of the following year.  The year officially begins with a board of directors meeting in August where officers and board members finalize the professional education programs.  Then in September, the Academy hosts a two part meeting with a dinner session for its members.  The dinner features a noted national or international guest lecturer from the ophthalmic community. This featured speaker then leads a clinical session and grand rounds the next day, a Friday morning at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center Department of Ophthalmology.       


The DAO is governed by six board of directors members and THREE officers.  The board is made up of three past presidents who serve for three consecutive years following his or her year as president.  The other three board members are SELECTED from the membership and also serve for three consecutive years.  Each officer in the academy begins a THREE-year term of service STARTING AS the Program Chair/Secretary/Treasurer THEN as the Vice President, and finally as President.



Your details were sent successfully!

UT Southwestern.jpg


At Dallas Academy of Ophthalmology, we are dedicated to stepping up our efforts in giving our members the best environment for learning and leading in the ophthalmic community here in the Dallas/Ft. Worth Metroplex. Our meetings are held at various restaurants or UT Southwestern.